Bite Studio - Visual Editor

Jonathan Cape is a part of Vintage Publishing

Jonathan Cape Ltd was founded in 1921 by Jonathan Cape and Wren Howard.  The firm quickly established itself as one of the leading literary publishers in London, publishing T.E. Lawrence’s The Seven Pillars of Wisdom, Ernest Hemingway, Arthur Ransome’s Swallows and Amazons (all the books in the series are still in print today in the original editions) and, in 1953, Ian Fleming’s Casino Royale, the first of the James Bond books. Today, Cape is still one of the most exciting fiction publishers in Britain today with authors ranging from Thomas Pynchon, Tom Wolfe, Philip Roth, Kurt Vonnegut, Martin Amis, Ian McEwan, Shena Mackay, Salman Rushdie, Julian Barnes, Roddy Doyle, A.L. Kennedy, Irvine Welsh, Audrey Niffenegger, Alan Warner, Chuck Palahniuk, Iain Pears, Anne Enright, Howard Jacobson and Adam Thorpe.

Cape’s non-fiction authors include Jung Chang, Stephen Jay Gould, Alison Weir, Piers Brendon, Julia Blackburn, Sara Wheeler, Mark Kurlansky, Frank McLynn, John Richardson, Ann Wroe, Bettany Hughes, Adrian Tinniswood and James Wood.

Cape also has a thriving poetry list (authors include John Burnside, Sharon Olds, Mark Doty, Michael Longley and Michael Symmons Roberts), the best graphic novels list in Britain (Chris Ware, Dan Clowes, Marjane Satrapi, Posy Simmonds, Raymond Briggs, Joe Sacco, Igort, Bryan Talbot, Charles Burns, David B.), and a list of photographic and art books (Richard Avedon, Robert Mapplethorpe, Don McCullin, Annie Leibovitz and Lucian Freud).

Recommended Reading

PageId: 124702 UserId: 5
This website makes use of cookies. See our Privacy Policy for more information.